Understand what your money buys

The price, the hours and the small print.

Compare published lesson quotes alongside their length, transmission and conditions. A prepaid block, a first-lesson offer and a test-day vehicle charge cover different things.

Reset

30 matching published options. These are dated website quotes from the listed providers, not a representative UK price survey or a guarantee of current availability.

Test-day vehicle chargeNorthern IrelandTransmission not stated

Open Road Driving School: Provider test-day charge with pre-test lesson

£150.00Total hours not specified

The provider lists a test-day charge including a one-hour pre-test lesson. Total vehicle-use time is not specified. This is a provider charge; do not assume the official DVA test fee is included. Website quote checked 13 September 2026.

Source checked 13/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Standard lessonScotlandmanual transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Dunfermline manual: 1-hour lesson

£50.00for 1 hour · £50.00 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. Standard lesson rate, separate from introductory offers.

Includes: Progress records and learner portal.; Mock-test practice can use normal lesson time; the digital report has no separate charge..

Separate costs or exclusions: Test-day car use and its total charge must be agreed separately.; Introductory Edinburgh manual offers do not apply. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Standard lessonScotlandmanual transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Dunfermline manual: 1.5-hour lesson

£75.00for 1.5 hours · £50.00 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. Standard lesson rate, separate from introductory offers.

Includes: Progress records and learner portal.; Mock-test practice can use normal lesson time; the digital report has no separate charge..

Separate costs or exclusions: Test-day car use and its total charge must be agreed separately.; Introductory Edinburgh manual offers do not apply. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Prepaid blockScotlandmanual transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Dunfermline manual: 10-hour block

£450.00for 10 hours · £45.00 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. Block paid in full before the first lesson; arrange the individual lesson times with the instructor.

Includes: Progress records and learner portal.; Mock-test practice can use normal lesson time; the digital report has no separate charge..

Separate costs or exclusions: Test-day car use and its total charge must be agreed separately.; Introductory Edinburgh manual offers do not apply. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Standard lessonScotlandmanual transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Dunfermline manual: 2-hour lesson

£95.00for 2 hours · £47.50 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. Standard lesson rate, separate from introductory offers.

Includes: Progress records and learner portal.; Mock-test practice can use normal lesson time; the digital report has no separate charge..

Separate costs or exclusions: Test-day car use and its total charge must be agreed separately.; Introductory Edinburgh manual offers do not apply. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Standard lessonScotlandautomatic transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Edinburgh automatic: 1-hour lesson

£50.00for 1 hour · £50.00 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. Standard lesson rate, separate from introductory offers.

Includes: Progress records and learner portal.; Mock-test practice can use normal lesson time; the digital report has no separate charge..

Separate costs or exclusions: Test-day car use and its total charge must be agreed separately.; Introductory Edinburgh manual offers do not apply. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Standard lessonScotlandautomatic transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Edinburgh automatic: 1.5-hour lesson

£75.00for 1.5 hours · £50.00 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. Standard lesson rate, separate from introductory offers.

Includes: Progress records and learner portal.; Mock-test practice can use normal lesson time; the digital report has no separate charge..

Separate costs or exclusions: Test-day car use and its total charge must be agreed separately.; Introductory Edinburgh manual offers do not apply. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Prepaid blockScotlandautomatic transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Edinburgh automatic: 10-hour block

£450.00for 10 hours · £45.00 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. Block paid in full before the first lesson; arrange the individual lesson times with the instructor.

Includes: Progress records and learner portal.; Mock-test practice can use normal lesson time; the digital report has no separate charge..

Separate costs or exclusions: Test-day car use and its total charge must be agreed separately.; Introductory Edinburgh manual offers do not apply. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Standard lessonScotlandautomatic transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Edinburgh automatic: 2-hour lesson

£95.00for 2 hours · £47.50 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. Standard lesson rate, separate from introductory offers.

Includes: Progress records and learner portal.; Mock-test practice can use normal lesson time; the digital report has no separate charge..

Separate costs or exclusions: Test-day car use and its total charge must be agreed separately.; Introductory Edinburgh manual offers do not apply. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Standard lessonScotlandmanual transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Edinburgh manual: 1-hour lesson

£50.00for 1 hour · £50.00 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. Standard lesson rate, separate from introductory offers.

Includes: Progress records and learner portal.; Mock-test practice can use normal lesson time; the digital report has no separate charge..

Separate costs or exclusions: Test-day car use and its total charge must be agreed separately. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Standard lessonScotlandmanual transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Edinburgh manual: 1.5-hour lesson

£75.00for 1.5 hours · £50.00 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. Standard lesson rate, separate from introductory offers.

Includes: Progress records and learner portal.; Mock-test practice can use normal lesson time; the digital report has no separate charge..

Separate costs or exclusions: Test-day car use and its total charge must be agreed separately. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Prepaid blockScotlandmanual transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Edinburgh manual: 10-hour block

£440.00for 10 hours · £44.00 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. Block paid in full before the first lesson; arrange the individual lesson times with the instructor.

Includes: Progress records and learner portal.; Mock-test practice can use normal lesson time; the digital report has no separate charge..

Separate costs or exclusions: Test-day car use and its total charge must be agreed separately. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Standard lessonScotlandmanual transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Edinburgh manual: 2-hour lesson

£90.00for 2 hours · £45.00 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. Standard lesson rate, separate from introductory offers.

Includes: Progress records and learner portal.; Mock-test practice can use normal lesson time; the digital report has no separate charge..

Separate costs or exclusions: Test-day car use and its total charge must be agreed separately. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Introductory offerScotlandmanual transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Edinburgh manual: introductory ten-hour block

£400.00for 10 hours · £40.00 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. New customers, including transfers, in Edinburgh and instructor-covered surrounding areas only. Choose one introductory offer per customer. Pay the block in advance. The published introductory block has no expiry; arrange lesson times with the instructor. Subsequent standard manual blocks are GBP 440.

Separate costs or exclusions: Dunfermline and automatic lessons excluded.; Cannot be combined with the first-lesson offer.; Test-day car use is arranged separately. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →
Introductory offerScotlandmanual transmission

The Driving Training Centre: Edinburgh manual: introductory two-hour lesson

£75.00for 2 hours · £37.50 per hour equivalent

Source page updated 9 September 2026. Confirm instructor coverage and availability. At least 48 hours notice is required to cancel or reschedule without charge; late cancellations and no-shows are charged. New customers, including transfers, in Edinburgh and instructor-covered surrounding areas only. Choose one introductory offer per customer. Subsequent standard two-hour manual lessons are GBP 90.

Separate costs or exclusions: Dunfermline and automatic lessons excluded.; Test-day car use is arranged separately. .

Source checked 12/09/2026. Read the provider’s price page

View services, collection areas and full profile →

Check the lesson length

A quoted hourly rate may require a two-hour booking. Where the lesson hours are stated, we calculate the equivalent hourly cost and keep the amount you actually pay beside it.

Check payment conditions

Introductory offers can be limited to new learners or a particular area. Before prepaying, ask about refunds, expiry, cancelled lessons and what happens if your instructor changes.

Budget beyond tuition

Include theory and practical booking fees, travel, private-practice insurance and any test-car charge. A provider’s test-day price should not be assumed to include the official test fee.

Turn a quote into a learning plan

Ask how many lessons you can realistically attend, which skills you will work on, and how progress will be reviewed. A fixed number of hours does not guarantee test readiness. Confirm the instructor, collection postcode, lesson length and cancellation terms before paying.

How lesson prices compared in the instructor survey

DVSA’s October 2025 survey provides a wider historical comparison. It asked instructors for their average standard one-hour lesson price; these bands describe respondents’ answers, not a recommended tariff or today’s local quotes.

3,342 people answered this question.

Reported standard one-hour lesson prices · October 2025
Average one-hour lesson priceResponse rate
£25 or less0.4%
£26 to £302.0%
£31 to £3518.2%
£36 to £4050.3%
£41 to £4522.5%
£46 to £505.0%
£51 or more1.6%
See the regional price-band breakdown
October 2025 survey responses by region
Region£35 or less£36 to £40£41 or moreTotal
South-west7.6%37.8%54.6%100%
South-east13.4%47.3%39.3%100%
Scotland10.4%53.7%36.0%100%
London34.2%40.5%25.2%100%
East of England17.2%58.4%24.3%100%
North-west27.1%51.4%21.5%100%
East Midlands20.1%58.8%21.1%100%
Wales27.8%52.8%19.4%100%
Yorkshire and the Humber30.4%51.9%17.8%100%
West Midlands37.0%48.9%14.1%100%
North-east27.7%64.2%8.1%100%

Regions have different respondent mixes. Percentages may not sum exactly because of rounding. Northern Ireland is not included in this GB survey.

Participation was voluntary; the overall survey reached around 8% of the September 2025 ADI register. It is not a census of instructors. Read the DVSA question and source · Explore all price findings and historical comparisons.